Personal tools
You are here: Home New Light Prize  
Document Actions

New Light Prize

by Patricia Helfenstein last modified 2013-01-11 17:30

The first Prize for Research into the Science of Light awarded on behalf of the European Physical Society through its Quantum Electronics & Optics Division (QEOD) was distributed during Nanometa 2013.

Nader Engheta, chair of the Prize Committee, handed the award over to Philip StJ Russell, from the Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light in Erlangen, Germany,

"For pioneering contributions into the physics and applications of photonic crystal fiber which have led to revolutionary advances in frequency metrology, and for the recent development of a flexible platform for gas-phase nonlinear optics that is enabling a new generation of experiments in ultrafast pulse dynamics, ionization physics and self-similarity."

Prize Russell IMG_1826.JPG



About the Prize for Research into the Science of Light

The EPS Prize for Research into the Science of Light is awarded on behalf of the European Physical Society through its Quantum Electronics & Optics Division (QEOD). 

The prize is awarded every 2 years in recognition of recent work by one or more individuals (no more than three) for scientific excellence in the area of electromagnetic science in its broadest sense, across the entire spectrum of electromagnetic waves.

The work for which the individual(s) is/are nominated must be such that a significant component of it was performed during the period 5 years prior to the award. In addition, the award will recognise research for which a significant portion of the work was carried out in Europe or in cooperation with European researchers, and may be given for either pure or applied research.

Nomination packets consist of a CV and publication list of the nominee(s), a 2 page summary of the significance of the work which is the subject of the nomination, a suggested citation, and up to 4 letters of support. Download nomination form.

Schedule for the “Light” Prize:
1.      Nominations deadline: 1 October 2012;
2.      Award announced to winner(s) ~ 8 November 2012;
3.      Winner(s) can elect given a talk at Nanometa 2013 or defer as plenary at Nanometa 2015;
4.      Winner(s) make a 45 minutes talk at Nanometa 2013  or defer it to 2015.

The Prize Ceremony and Lecture will be highlights of the EPS Nanometa Conference organized every 2 years.

Additional Information and Rules:

The award was accompanied by an engraved glass medal, certificate, and a monetary sum whose value shall be determined by the QEOD board in the year preceding the award, and which will be set at 2000 euros for 2013-2014.

The prize jury consisted of eight eminent researchers selected from amongst the QEOD board and current or past members of the Programme Committee of the Nanometa Conference. The President of the EPS also served on the prize jury. Patricia Helfenstein, EPS, will act as the Secretary (non-voting)

Confirmed Prize Jury:
1.      Nader Engheta, University of Pennsylvania, USA – Chair
2.      Harry Atwater, CALTECH, USA
3.      Allan Boardman, Salford University, UK
4.      Mark Brongersma, Stanford University, USA
5.      John Dudley, EPS President
6.      Monika Ritsch-Marte, Innsbruck Medical University, Austria
7.      Moti Segev, Technion, Israel
8.      Victor Zadkov, Moscow State University, Russia


Follow Us

| |

Key deadlines

08 August 2012:
Submission on line open

15 October 2012:
Submission deadline

November 2012:
Authors notification

September 2012:
On line Registration opens

December 2012:
Pre-registration deadline


Powered by Plone CMS, the Open Source Content Management System

This site conforms to the following standards: